Find us on
Association of Washington School Principals
Washington Principal | Volume 2– 2022-23
Summer Conference: The Lighthouse Effect
Steve Pemberton
Chief Human Resources Officer, Workhuman, and Best Selling Author, “A Chance in the World”
Let’s Hear It for the Room: 3 Areas of Collaboration to Celebrate
Nick Davies, Ph.D.
Associate Principal, Eisenhower/Lake Shore Elementary
The Impacts of COVID-19 on School Leadership
Steven Stein, Ph.D.
Math Liaison for College in High School, Central Washington University
Thinking About Retirement?
Fred Yancey and Mike Moran
The Nexus Group, LLC
You’re Going to Outdoor School! Now What?
Shelley Barker
Director, School Engagement, Outdoor Schools WA
How Does Senate Bill 5175 Help “Grow, Support, And Sustain” School Leaders?
Roz Thompson
Government Relations and Advocacy Director, AWSP
In Every Issue
From the Editor
David Morrill
Communications & Technology Director, AWSP
From the AWSP President
Brent Osborn
AWSP Board President, Principal, Lakeside High School, Nine Mile Falls School District
From the AWSP Executive Director
Dr. Scott Seaman
Executive Director, AWSP
Staff & Credits
Editor-in-Chief, David Morrill • david@awsp.org Managing Editor, Caroline Brumfield • caroline@awsp.org Writing & Editing, Jocelyn McCabe Public Relations, LLC • www.jmccabepr.com Design, Scott Hamilton Design • www.scotthamiltondesign.com
Washington Principal is the official publication of the Association of Washington School Principals (AWSP). It is published in the fall, winter and spring each school year. Advertising inquiries should be addressed to the AWSP Olympia office. All articles published become the property of AWSP and may not be reprinted without permission.
1021 8th Ave. SE • Olympia, WA 98501-1500 360.357.7951 • www.awsp.org
AWSP Staff Dr. Scott Seaman, Executive Director Jack Arend, Deputy Director (Pro Learning Lead) Kamrica Ary-Turner, Associate Director (Puget Sound region) Ashley Barker, Inclusionary Practices Director Macy Bruhy, Member Engagement & State Programs Administrator Dameon Brown, Professional Learning & Mentorship Program Coordinator Caroline Brumfield, Graphic Design and Marketing Manager Scott Friedman, Associate Director (Spokane region) Kim Marquette, Operations Director David Morrill, Communications & Technology Director Andi Mounts, Finance Director Angela Spriggs, Fiscal Coordinator Roz Thompson, Governmental Relations & Advocacy Director Julie Woods, Member Services Specialist Gina Yonts, Associate Director (Walla Walla region)
Association of Washington Student Leaders James Layman, AWSL Director
Cispus Learning Center Chase Buffington, Director
Outdoor Schools WA Shelley Barker, Director, School Engagement
AWSP’s Washington School Principals’ Education Foundation (WSPEF) Greg Barker, WSPEF Managing Director Grade-Level Leadership Committees Elementary Middle Level High School National Affiliates National Association of Elementary School Principals National Association of Secondary School Principals