Still Waiting to “Fix” Tier I?You’ll Always Be Waiting…
Lindsey Marquardt
Principal, Rocky Ridge Elementary, Bethel SD
Remembering Annalee Braley
Restorative Practices: The “Secret Sauce” for Changing Behavior for the Better
Kirsten Rue
Director of Student Achievement, North Thurston PS
Keep Your Eye on the Ball
Patrick Vincent
Principal, Union Gap School, Union Gap SD
Reimagining Recess Has Arrived!
James Layman, et. al.
AWSL Director
Preparing For Each Tomorrow, Healing Your Community, and Thoughts on “Ted Lasso”
David Morrill
Communications & Technology Director, AWSP
Outdoor Learning: It All Began Here
Shelley Barker
Director of Curriculum and Professional Development, Outdoor Schools Washington
Student Leadership: Have You Asked Your Students Yet?
James Layman
Director of Student Programs, Association of Washington Student Leaders
Ready, Set, Grow!
Gina Yonts
Associate Director, AWSP
In Every Issue
Honor Roll: Sen. Sam Hunt
Recommended Reading
AWSP Pro Learning Overview
Best of the AWSP Blog
Humor Me!
Partners & Sponsors
Editor’s Desk
David Morrill
Communications & Technology Director, AWSP
From the AWSP President
Chris Visserman
2021-22 AWSP Board President, Principal, Hawk Elementary at Jackson Park, Central Kitsap SD
From the AWSP Executive Director
Dr. Scott Seaman
Executive Director, AWSP
Staff & Credits
Managing Editor, David Morrill • Design, Scott Hamilton Design •
Washington Principal is the official publication of the Association of Washington School Principals (AWSP). It is published in the fall, winter and spring each school year. Advertising inquiries should be addressed to the AWSP Olympia office. All articles published become the property of AWSP and may not be reprinted without permission.
1021 8th Ave. SE • Olympia, WA 98501-1500 360.357.7951 •
AWSP Staff Dr. Scott Seaman, Executive Director Jack Arend, Associate Director (Pro Learning Lead) Macy Bruhy, Member Engagement & State Programs Administrator Caroline Brumfield, Graphic Design and Marketing Manager Xenia Doualle, Digital Content Creator Dr. Chris Espeland, Associate Director (Inclusion Project Lead) Scott Friedman, Associate Director (Spokane office) Kim Marquette, Operations Director Kerry Mill, Administrative Assistant and Member Support Specialist David Morrill, Communications & Technology Director Andi Mounts, Finance Director Angela Spriggs, Fiscal Coordinator Roz Thompson, Governmental Relations & Advocacy Director Gina Yonts, Associate Director (Walla Walla office)
Association of Washington Student Leaders James Layman, AWSL Director Heather Muir, AWSL Office Manager, and Member Support Layla Jasper, AWSL Student Learning Director
Cispus Learning Center Chase Buffington, Director
Outdoor Schools WA Shelley Barker, Director of Curriculum and Professional Development
AWSP’s Washington School Principals’ Education Foundation (WSPEF) Greg Barker, WSPEF Managing Director Grade-Level Leadership Committees Elementary Middle Level High School National Affiliates National Association of Elementary School Principals National Association of Secondary School Principals
Find us on
Association of Washington School Principals
Washington Principal | Volume 1– 2021-22