Find us on
Association of Washington School Principals
Washington Principal | Volume 2– 2021-22
A Roadmap to
Mary Snyder
Social Emotional Learning Specialist, Steilacoom HSD
Mike Miller
Principal, Steilacoom High School, Steilacoom HSD
Know Your Immigrant Students to Maximize Learning for All
Srinivas Khedam, Ed.D
Assistant Director, Racial and Educational Justice Department, Northshore SD
5 Point Star: Authentic Leadership in Action
Kim Doepker
Principal, Garrison Middle School, Walla Walla PS
Breakfast After the Bell in 2022
Madeleine Vistica
K-12 School Meals Coordinator, United Way of King County
Developing Community Partnerships
Kristy Mylroie
Communications Specialist, Spokane PS
Red Card
Dr. Karissa Niehoff
Executive Director, National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS)
“All Are Welcome Here”
Michael Clark
Principal, Norman Rockwell Elementary School
Outdoor School: Why Now?
Shelley Barker
Director of Curriculum and Professional Development, Outdoor Schools Washington
Student Leadership: The ABCs of School Culture
James Layman
AWSL Director
Have a Seat at Our Table: Outdoor Education Funding Update
Shelley Barker
Outdoor Schools Washington
Greg Barker
Washington School Principals’ Education Foundation
Chase Buffington
Washington Outdoor School Consortium
Residential Outdoor Education in the Time of COVID
Dr. Roberta McFarland
Director, Waskowitz Outdoor School, Highline PS
Reflect, Redesign & Relaunch!
Gina Yonts
Associate Director, AWSP
In Every Issue
Recommended Reading
AWSP Pro Learning Overview
Best of the AWSP Blog
Humor Me!
Partners & Sponsors
Editor’s Desk
David Morrill
Communications & Technology Director, AWSP
From the AWSP President
Chris Visserman
2021-22 AWSP Board President, Principal, Hawk Elementary at Jackson Park, Central Kitsap SD
From the AWSP Executive Director
Dr. Scott Seaman
Executive Director, AWSP
Staff & Credits
Managing Editor, David Morrill • Design, Scott Hamilton Design •
Washington Principal is the official publication of the Association of Washington School Principals (AWSP). It is published in the fall, winter and spring each school year. Advertising inquiries should be addressed to the AWSP Olympia office. All articles published become the property of AWSP and may not be reprinted without permission.
1021 8th Ave. SE • Olympia, WA 98501-1500 360.357.7951 •
AWSP Staff Dr. Scott Seaman, Executive Director Jack Arend, Associate Director (Pro Learning Lead) Macy Bruhy, Member Engagement & State Programs Administrator Dameon Brown, Professional Learning Service Specialist Caroline Brumfield, Graphic Design and Marketing Manager Xenia Doualle, Digital Content Creator Dr. Chris Espeland, Associate Director (Inclusion Project Lead) Scott Friedman, Associate Director (Spokane office) Kim Marquette, Operations Director Kerry Mill, Administrative Assistant and Member Support Specialist David Morrill, Communications & Technology Director Andi Mounts, Finance Director Angela Spriggs, Fiscal Coordinator Roz Thompson, Governmental Relations & Advocacy Director Gina Yonts, Associate Director (Walla Walla office)
Association of Washington Student Leaders James Layman, AWSL Director Heather Muir, AWSL Office Manager, and Member Support Layla Jasper, AWSL Student Learning Director
Cispus Learning Center Chase Buffington, Director
Outdoor Schools WA Shelley Barker, Director of Curriculum and Professional Development
AWSP’s Washington School Principals’ Education Foundation (WSPEF) Greg Barker, WSPEF Managing Director Grade-Level Leadership Committees Elementary Middle Level High School National Affiliates National Association of Elementary School Principals National Association of Secondary School Principals